M. Crist Fleming Endowment

The M. Crist Fleming Endowment for International Understanding and Leadership was established as a memorial to the School’s founder and initially made possible by a $500,000 bequest from TASIS alumnus John E. Palmer ’64. This seed money is being augmented by donations (to date, over 130) from other TASIS alumni, parents, and friends to honor the accomplishments of M. Crist Fleming. The Endowment has been carefully invested to provide for preservation of principal while earning a steady return. It supports student involvement in international service projects pertaining to refugees, immigration, homelessness, health, education, and environmental sustainability. It funds the Senior Humanities Program and aims to cross linguistic, ethnic, and national borders through theater and music, a tactic for which TASIS already has an admirable tradition and reputation.

The Endowment also provides resources to invite distinguished guest speakers and attract and retain world-class faculty–the soul of the TASIS experience. It is used to fund student scholarships and the professional development of teachers. The Endowment does not finance capital projects. It is managed by the TASIS Foundation, Inc., an American non-profit educational foundation, with supervision by the TASIS Foundation Switzerland.

Donations to the M. Crist Fleming Endowment Fund for International Understanding and Leadership honor our founder and will continue to help bring Mrs. Fleming’s dream to life for current and future generations of TASIS students.

If you would like to donate, please click here: M. Crist Fleming Endowment Fund for International Understanding and Leadership. Contact Yvonne Procyk at yvonne.procyk@tasis.ch for more information about giving to the M. Crist Fleming Endowment for International Understanding and Leadership. 

Below is more information about two valuable programs that were funded by gifts to the M. Crist Fleming Endowment for International Understanding and Leadership.

The Senior Humanitites Program

A CHF 100,000 donation from TASIS parents Michael and Jane Grindfors to the Endowment in 2008 launched the Senior Humanities Program, which provides TASIS seniors and PGs with a signature educational experience, drawing on five of the best elements of the TASIS identity: truth, beauty, goodness, international understanding, and humanitarian action. Through a coherent set of discussions, trips, lectures, and tours focusing on these five elements, seniors and PGs are provided with an enhanced intellectual experience. This year-long program helps convey a clear message to seniors and PGs about what the school hopes and expects from them after they leave TASIS. A dedicated group of teachers and students work to plan and carry out the program.

Visit the Senior Humanities Program page for a list speakers for the current academic year

The Akbar Khan - Max Page Master Teacher Award


The Akbar Khan-Max Page Master Teacher Award is another initiative supported by the M. Crist Fleming Endowment. This new TASIS tradition was launched in 2009, having been proposed by the TASIS Foundation and funded by the TASIS Board of Directors as part of their broader efforts to support and encourage the faculty as the heart of the TASIS experience and the center of our improvement in the coming years. 

Awarded annually, the Khan–Page TASIS Master Teacher Award is named after two outstanding teachers who taught for many years in both TASIS schools: the late Akbar Khan in mathematics and Max P. Page in English. The award recognizes an outstanding teacher who represents a high standard of professional pedagogy, possesses advanced subject-area knowledge, has a capacity to convey the joy and importance of learning to students, and demonstrates a fundamental sympathy with the aims and goals of TASIS as expressed in the Paideia.

The recipient receives CHF 5,000 to spend in any way he or she chooses. Candidates may teach in any grade level but must have taught at TASIS for at least five years. 

Honored Veteran Master Teachers

2009 Carolyn Heard
2010 Mark Aeschliman
2011 Cynthia Whisenant
2012 Brigitte Cazebonne 
2013 Giorgio Volpi 
2014 Brett Merritt 
2015 Mario D'Azzo 

powered by finalsite