Faculty & Staff Directory

Large image

Mr. Todd Bearden

Contact Information
School Email
Faculty & Staff Information
Division All-School
Department(s) Administrative Personnel, Residential Life Staff
Title(s) AV and Multi-Media Support Coordinator
Other Information

Our Faculty

TASIS is known for attracting educators who are adventurous, driven, and enthusiastic, and more than 70 percent of our faculty hold advanced degrees. We are proud to employ gifted, passionate educators who encourage intellectual curiosity and demand the most from their students.

Faculty excellence is the core of the TASIS experience, and the teaching does not stop when the school day ends. Our teachers are also dorm parents, coaches, advisors, and trip leaders, and they come to know their students in meaningful ways both in and out of the classroom. What stands out most to students is the way their teachers care about them.  As one recent graduate explained, “The relationships between students and faculty are unlike those at any other school, and this really made TASIS feel like a home with adults I knew I could trust and talk to about anything.”

In 2009, the TASIS Foundation established the Khan-Page Master Teacher Award in order to annually recognize an outstanding teacher who represents a high standard of professional pedagogy, possesses advanced subject-area knowledge, has a capacity to convey the joy and importance of learning to students, and demonstrates a fundamental sympathy with the aims and goals of TASIS as expressed in the Paideia.

Named after two exceptional teachers who taught for many years in both TASIS schools—the late Akbar Khan in Mathematics and Max P. Page in English—the award has been given to Chair of the English as an Additional Language Department Carolyn Heard (2009), Art History and Architecture & Design teacher Mark Aeschliman (2010), Chair of the English Department Cynthia Whisenant (2011), French teacher Brigitte Cazebonne (2012), Physical Education teacher Giorgio Volpi (2013), Chair of the Middle School Science Department Brett Merritt (2014), Italian teacher Mario D’Azzo (2015), Science teacher Amy Bloodworth (2016), Math teacher Kerry Venchus (2017), Math and History teacher Patrick Alava (2018), and Music teacher Melody Tibbits Zanecchia (2019).

Visit our Faculty Features page to learn more about the Khan-Page Master Teacher recipients and several other exceptional TASIS teachers.

powered by finalsite